GOP Gov of Battleground State Won’t Endorse Trump

( – The Republican governor of Ohio, a major battleground state, refused to endorse former President Donald Trump, instead saying only that he would vote for the Republican nominee in November.

Mike DeWine, who has been serving as Ohio’s governor since 2019, stated that he will support “the Republican nominee” when asked whether he would be endorsing Trump by Dana Bash during an interview on CNN’s “State of the Union.” DeWine added that his focus will be on more local races, particularly Senate races.

Trump and DeWine already seem to be at odds over the Senate race in the Buckeye State, with Trump endorsing Bernie Moreno, a businessman, while DeWine endorsed Matt Dolan, an Ohio State Senator. While DeWine said he thinks Dolan is a stronger candidate against incumbent Democrat Sen. Sherrod Brown, Moreno, Dolan, and Ohio Secretary of State Frank LaRose, who is also running for the Republican nomination, locked in a tight race with no clear front-runner. DeWine pointed out that he has worked with State Senator Dolan in the Ohio legislature, adding that Dolan has more experience working within a legislative body.

While campaigning for Moreno in Ohio on Saturday, March 16th, Trump took a few digs at DeWine’s candidate, calling him a RINO (Republican in Name Only) and suggesting Dolan wants to be “the next Mitt Romney.” Trump didn’t shy away from criticizing DeWine, either, pointing out that DeWine vetoed a law that would have banned “transgender” minors from taking puberty blockers, cross-sex hormones, or getting cosmetic surgical procedures. While many call this “gender-affirming care,” DeWine seems willfully ignorant to the fact that these medications and surgeries often leave the youth who seek them out permanently sterilized.

DeWine is not the only prominent Republican to refuse to endorse Trump recently. Both Senators Mike Rounds (R-SD) and Bill Cassidy (R-LA) both declined opportunities to endorse the former president. Cassidy said his plan was to “vote for a Republican” for the highest office in the United States.

Copyright 2024,