House GOP Hesitant to Oust Speaker Johnson

( – House Republicans, who previously led the removal of former Speaker Kevin McCarthy, are now reluctant to oust current Speaker Mike Johnson.

Far-right Congresswoman Marjorie Taylor Greene is leading the efforts to oust Johnson, but she is currently facing difficulties to find enough backing. Only two out of the eight anti-McCarthy Republican lawmakers are rallying behind Greene to push Johnson out of office.

Others either believe that Republicans do not have enough numbers to win an immediate speaker election, or it is not the right time to change House leadership.

Congresswoman Nancy Mace suggested that she is still recovering from McCarthy’s removal, and she does not support this latest move. Matt Gaetz of Florida also dismissed the idea of removing Johnson.

Some Republicans are worried that they may not be able to bring a Republican Speaker if they remove Johnson and go into the elections right now. Chairman of the House Freedom Caucus, Bob Good, who also teamed up with Democrats to remove McCarthy, expressed his wish to change Johnson but still claimed that the GOP has only a 3-vote majority, so it is a wise approach to wait till November when the Speaker will himself conduct the new elections.

Reps. Andy Biggs and Eli Crane are also dissatisfied with Johnson’s leadership but dismiss the idea of removing him.

Seeing other Republicans uninterested in her efforts, Greene stated that she thought that anti-McCarthy lawmakers would be the first ones to vote against Johnson. Greene is pushing for a vote that will require the House of Representatives to either conduct a vote for Johnson’s future or kill the motion within two days.

Meanwhile, some House Democrats are also likely to vote in Johnson’s favor, which will eventually save his speakership.

The top three Democratic House lawmakers, including Hakeem Jeffries, Katherine Clark, and Pete Aguilar, have suggested their potential support for Johnson, stating that they will oppose the ‘pro-Putin’ Republican faction by opposing Greene’s motion.

Copyright 2024,