Trump Allies Indicted in Arizona Over 2020 Scheme

( – Several of former President Donald Trump’s allies were indicted by a grand jury in Arizona on Wednesday, April 24th for their alleged efforts to overturn the 2020 election and declare Trump the winner.

Eleven felony indictments were handed down by the grand jury to Republican electors. Those indicted include Mark Meadows, who was White House Chief of Staff under Trump; Kelli Ward, who was the Republican Chair of Arizona; Boris Epshteyn, who was an adviser to the Trump campaign; Jim Lamon, a former candidate for the U.S. Senate; Jake Hoffman, a State Senator in Arizona; Jenna Ellis, who was an attorney for Trump; and Rudy Guiliani, who was famously the mayor of New York City during the 9/11 attacks as well as formerly an attorney for Trump as well, among others.

Trump himself was not indicted by the grand jury, but the indictment lists him as “Unindicted Coconspirator 1.” The indictment mentions seven people who worked with Trump in the scheme, though their names are redacted, which means they have not been charged yet.

Kris Mayes, the Democrat Attorney General of Arizona, shared a video on social media discussing the indictment, saying she would not allow the nation’s democracy to be “undermined.” Mayes claims the scheme by Trump allies would have rendered the right of Arizonians to vote as “meaningless.”

Hoffman released a statement saying he is “innocent of any crime” and looks forward to being “vindicated” by the court. Dennis Wilenchik, who is the attorney representing Lamon in this case, called the charges “politically motivated” and said there was no actual crime involved. Wilenchik went so far as to claim that once his client is proven innocent, they will be suing the Arizona Attorney General’s office for damages related to the accusations.

The Arizona indictments are just one of multiple state-level cases against Trump and his allies relating to the 2020 election. Cases against Trump allies are also ongoing in both Michigan and Nevada.

Copyright 2024,